The Prismatic Debussy – Festival 2012 – Eastman School of Music

Extravagant Debussy

Extravagant Debussy, a gala large-ensemble concert
Saturday, October 13, 2012, 8 PM, Kodak Hall at Eastman Theatre

Eastman School Symphony Orchestra
Eastman Philharmonia
Eastman Wind Ensemble
Eastman Chorale

Neil Varon, Mark Davis Scatterday, Donald Hunsberger, William Weinert, conductors

Printemps  (1887; Prix de Rome work)
Eastman School Symphony Orchestra, Neil Varon, conductor

Three transcriptions for wind ensemble:
Marche écossaise, arr. Mark Scatterday
“Sarabande” from Pour le piano, arr. Mark Scatterday
“Hommage à Rameau” from Images (for solo piano), arr. Donald Hunsberger
Eastman Wind Ensemble, Mark Scatterday and Donald Hunsberger, conductors
Andrew Duncan, bagpipes

Nocturnes (1899)
Critical edition by Denis Herlin
Eastman Philharmonia and Women’s Chorus, Neil Varon, conductor

Le Martyre de saint Sébastien (1911) – mystère for orchestra, chorus, and soloists
Critical edition by Eiko Kasaba and Pierre Boulez
Act IV: “Le Laurier blessé” (“The Wounded Laurel Tree”)
Act V: Le Paradis” (“Paradise”)
Eastman Philharmonia and Chorale, William Weinert, conductor

The Prismatic Debussy opens with a concert surveying music for large ensembles: two pieces scored by Debussy himself; one orchestrated by Debussy with André Caplet; and three shorter pieces arranged by Eastman Wind Ensemble conductors Mark Scatterday and Donald Hunsberger. The program covers almost 25 years of music, from Debussy’s early orchestral suite Printemps (Spring) to a portion of the “mystery” The Martyrdom of Saint Sebastian for soloists, chorus, and orchestra.

Festival Artistic Director Marie Rolf will introduce the repertoire in each half of the concert with lavish illustrations projected on a large screen, including vivid photos of dancers, sets, and costumes for the danced versions of Printemps and Le Martye de saint Sébastien, and rare materials regarding the Marche écossaise (to be introduced by a bagpiper in kilt, performing the Scottish tune used by Debussy).

“Hommage à Rameau” from Images, série I [for solo piano]
excerpt from Eastman Audio Archive call no. MO 1120

Performed by Professor Rebecca Penneys in a Faculty Recital on October 13, 2002 in Kilbourn Hall at the Eastman School of Music. Professor Penneys has served on the piano faculty of the Eastman School since 1980.

[audio:|titles=Hommage à Rameau” from Images, série I]

“Fêtes,” second movement from Nocturnes [for orchestra with women’s chorus; the given movement is solely for orchestra]
excerpt from Eastman Audio Archive call no. DM 2620

Performed by the New Eastman Symphony under Professor Brad Lubman, conductor, on January 23, 1998 in Kilbourn Hall at the Eastman School of Music. The New Eastman Symphony was a student-managed orchestra that flourished at the Eastman School in the years 1997-2000. Professor Lubman has served on the Conducting and Ensembles faculty of the Eastman School since 1996.