Musica Nova

Brad Lubman, Director

Musica Nova cellists

Musica Nova, directed by Brad Lubman, gives several concerts of up-to-the-minute contemporary music and 20th- and 21st-century classics each year, often with the composers present. Visiting composers have included: Oliver Knussen, Steve Reich, John Adams, George Crumb, John Zorn, Bernard Rands, Luca Francesconi, and Harrison Birtwistle. Musica Nova began in the mid 1960s as the Music Nova Wind Quintet (one of whose founding members was James Undercofler, Director and Dean of Eastman 1997-2006). After a few years it was made into an official ensemble, directed by Sydney Hodkinson. Brad Lubman became conductor of the ensemble in 1997. The ensemble has performed in New York City a number of times.


← Ensemble listing