Louis Lane Prize

Named for an Eastman composer and alumnus;
awarded to a student who has shown excellence in composition

Alexander Elliott Miller

Linda Muise Award

Established in honor of Eastman's Assistant Dean for Residential Life; presented to a graduating senior who has shown dedication, enthusiasm, collaboration, and leadership traits that promote and maintain a strong quality of life for all

Jeffrey Allen Willy

Robert L. Oppelt Viola Prize

Named for the first recipient of the DMA in Performance and Pedagogy at the Eastman School of Music; awarded annually to an outstanding viola student

Braunwin Sheldrick

Ornest Award

Established by Dorothy Ornest (BM '42) and Naomi Ornest (BM '46) in honor of their parents; presented to undergraduate students, enrolled in any program at Eastman for at least one year, who have shown excellence in academic and musical study and whose performing instrument is voice

Halley Dane Gilbert, Jeff Paul Goble,

Analisa Elizabeth Leaming, Christina Rae Woods

The Presser Music Award

Funded by a grant from the Presser Foundation; presented to a graduate student demonstrating excellence and outstanding promise for a distinguished career in the field of music

Paul Miller

Presser Foundation Undergraduate Scholarship

Funded by a grant from the Presser Foundation; awarded to an undergraduate music student in recognition of outstanding achievement

Sara Elisabeth Ballance

Bernard Rogers Memorial Prize

Established in memory of the renowned Eastman faculty composer; awarded to a worthy composition student selected by the faculty

*Abigail R. Aresty**

Raymond and Maxine Schirmer Prize in Jazz Performance

Awarded to a student in the Department of Jazz and Contemporary Media who has distinguished him- or herself in the area of jazz performance

Ryan Michael Kotler

The 2005/2006 Teaching Assistant Prizes

Awarded to students who distinguish themselves for teaching excellence

Shannon Elise Hesse, Jenine Lyn Lawson, Jo Ann Nardolillo, Martin Heinrich Seggelke

Glenn Watkins Travelling Fellowship

Established by a distinguished Eastman alumnus (PhD '53); awarded to support dissertation research travel for a doctoral student in Musicology

Katherine Leigh Axtell

Willow Hall Press Award for Harp

Established to honor the memory of Jane B. Weidensaul, Ph.D, harpist, scholar, and teacher; awarded to a harp performance major entering today's music profession

Mary Jeanette Counts

Zildjian Scholarship

Funded by the Avedis Zildjian Company; awarded to an outstanding percussion student Ivan Andrew Trevino





Honors and Awards

Eastman School of Music _81st Commencement Sunday, May 21, 2006, 11:15 a.m.

Robert Wayne Barlow Award for Excellence in Harp Performance

Named for the son of Eastman faculty composer Wayne Barlow; presented to a student judged for excellence in harp performance

Patricia Jean Kline

Robert G. Boehmler Composition Award

Established in 2006 by the Robert G. Boehmler Foundation; awarded to support the commission of a new work by a student composer at Eastman, to be premiered in Wayne County

Michaela Eremiasova

Andrew J. Bogiages Memorial Prize

Established to commemorate the life and musical contributions of a talented young Eastman student; awarded to a deserving underclassman or graduate bassoon student

Rachael Wyatt Wolf Young

John Celentano Award for Excellence in Chamber Music

Established to celebrate the outstanding contributions of Professor Emeritus John Celentano; honors students who have demonstrated exceptional achievement in the study and performance of chamber music

David Gregory Gerstein, Heather Ann Braun, Caroline Elizabeth Bean, Jennifer Marie Volmer, Grace Yan-En Lee, Samantha Lee Angelo, Christopher Myles Jackson, Kimberly Alice Fitch, Joseph Gordon Liccardo, Matthew Brendon Zerweck, Jungin Yang, Man Yui Kitty Cheung

Lynne Clarke Vocal Prize

Established to honor the memory of Lynne Clarke; awarded to recognize a vocalist who shows outstanding talent and musicality through his or her first-prize performance in the Friends of Eastman Opera Voice Competition

Lara Lynn Cottrill

Anne T. Cummins Prize

Established in memory of a well-loved French professor who taught at the Eastman School from 1924-1966; awarded to a graduating senior who has distinguished him- or herself in humanities classes

Julienne Markrid Eby

Anthony and Carolyn Donato Prize

Established by an Eastman alumnus and his wife; awarded for the outstanding composition of a sonata for violin and piano Winnie Wing Yee Cheung

C. Eschenbach Award

Established by parents of a graduate of the Accompanying program at Eastman; awarded to an accompanying major who has distinguished him- or herself in concert with a singer colleague

Ji Eun Han

Excellence in Accompanying Award

Recognizes students who have particularly distinguished themselves through their work as collaborative pianists Chit Lai Tsang, Ji Eun Han, Jeremy Samolesky

Charles Warren Fox Award

Established in memory of the distinguished musicologist and former Eastman School professor; presented to a graduate musicology student in recognition of a special academic accomplishment

Maria Christina Fava

Friends of Eastman Opera Student Opportunity Award

Established by the Friends of Eastman Opera to assist voice students with extracurricular opportunities that may enhance their development as vocalists

Bernard Damon Holcomb, Kyung Min Park

Friends of Eastman Opera Voice Competition Prizes

Funded by the Friends of Eastman Opera, an organization which supports students, programs and productions of the Eastman Opera Theatre; awarded to the second and third place winners in the Friends of Eastman Opera Voice Competition

Jennifer Ann Berkebile (Second Prize), Jonathan Michie (Third Prize)

Belle S. Gitelman Award

Established in memory of Belle Gitelman and the contributions she made to the artistic life of Rochester; presented to students whose compositions have been declared worthy of recognition

Vera Olegovna Ivanova, Scott Eric Petersen

Jerald C. Graue Fellowship

Established in memory of a respected scholar, beloved teacher, and former chair of the Musicology Department; awarded to graduate students in any field for their outstanding work in musicological research

Martin Nedbal

Howard Hanson Orchestral Prize

Given in honor of Howard Hanson, distinguished composer, conductor, and Director of the Eastman School of Music from 1924-1964; awarded in recognition of a student who composes an original and distinguishable orchestral piece

Jacob Daniel Bancks

Howard Hanson Ensemble Prize

Given in honor of Howard Hanson; awarded to a student who composes an original and distinguishable ensemble piece

Christopher David Brakel

Elsa T. Johnson Fellowship

Awarded to a deserving musicology student, in order to make it possible for that student to devote his or her time to the writing of the PhD dissertation

Sylvia Angelique Alajaji

Jessie Kneisel Lieder Prize

Established in memory of a distinguished Eastman professor of German; awarded to the winners of the annual Jessie Kneisel Competition in German Lieder

Marc Robert Webster (First Prize, Voice); Brittany Leigh Palmer (Second Prize, Voice); Jonathan Michie (Third Prize, Voice); Jennifer Ann Berkebile (Honorable Mention, Voice); Jonathan William Ware (First Prize, Piano); JooHyun Lee (Second Prize, Piano); Joseph Gordon Liccardo (Third Prize, Piano); Alisa Frances Curlee (Honorable Mention, Piano)

Barbara M. H. Koeng Award

Established to honor the memory of a beloved staff member at the Eastman School of Music; recognizes the achievements of an accompanying major who shares Mrs. Koeng's passion for working with singers

JooHyun Lee