Robert Wayne Barlow Award for Excellence in Harp Performance

Named for the son of Eastman faculty composer Wayne Barlow; presented to a student judged for excellence in harp performance Julie Maureen Barnes

Andrew J. Bogiages Memorial Prize in Bassoon

Established to commemorate the life and musical contributions of a talented young Eastman student; awarded to a deserving underclassman or graduate bassoon student Sourideth Lobo Ratana

John Celentano Award for Excellence in Chamber Music

Established to celebrate the outstanding contributions of Professor Emeritus John Celentano; honors students who have demonstrated exceptional achievement in the study and performance of chamber music

Hilary Joann Abigana, Anton Morrison Baba, Amy Yunhee Chung, Adam Michael Matthes, Jeffrey Taylor Stephenson, Donna Yoo, Rachel Wyatt

Lynne Clarke Vocal Prize

Established to honor the memory of Lynne Clarke; awarded to recognize a vocalist who shows outstanding talent and musicality through his or her first-prize performance in the Friends of Eastman Opera Voice Competition Marc Robert Webster

Anne T. Cummins Prize

Established in memory of a well-loved French professor who taught at the Eastman School from 1924-1966; awarded to a graduating senior who has distinguished him- or herself in humanities classes Daria Binkowski

Excellence in Accompanying Award

Recognizes students who have particularly distinguished themselves through their work as collaborative pianists Jeremy Samolesky, Man-Shan Yap, Ji Eun Han

Charles Warren Fox Award

Established in memory of the distinguished musicologist and former Eastman School professor; presented to a graduate musicology student in recognition of a special academic accomplishment Katherine Leigh Axtell

Friends of Eastman Opera Student Opportunity Award

Established by the Friends of Eastman Opera to assist voice students with extracurricular opportunities that may enhance their development as vocalists Kevin (Kyung Min) Park

Friends of Eastman Opera Voice Competition Prizes

Funded by the Friends of Eastman Opera, an organization which supports students, programs and productions of the Eastman Opera Theatre; awarded to the second and third place winners in the Friends of Eastman Opera Voice Competition

Munenori Sugitani (Second Prize); Annamarie Zmolek (Third Prize); Margaret Mary Gawrysiak (Honorable Mention)

Belle S. Gitelman Award

Established in memory of Belle Gitelman and the contributions she made to the artistic life of Rochester; presented to students whose compositions have been declared worthy of recognition Scott Eric Petersen, Paul Earl Coleman, Tzu-Ling Chou

Jerald C. Graue Fellowship

Established in memory of a respected scholar, beloved teacher, and former chair of the Musicology Department; awarded to graduate students in any field for their outstanding work in musicological research Cindy Lee, Katherine Elizabeth Hutchings

Howard Hanson Orchestral Prize

Given in honor of Howard Hanson, distinguished composer, conductor, and Director of the Eastman School of Music from 1924-1964; awarded in recognition of a student who composes an original and distinguishable orchestral piece David Henning Plylar

Named for an Eastman composer and alumnus; awarded to a student who has shown excellence in composition Arthur Edward Williford

Established in honor of the distinguished musicologist and professor emeritus at the Eastman School; recognizes a student in the department of musicology or theory for a dissertation of unusual distinction

Howard Hanson Ensemble Prize

Given in honor of Howard Hanson; awarded to a student who composes an original and distinguishable ensemble piece

Zachary Robert Wadsworth

Elsa T. Johnson Fellowship

Awarded to a deserving musicology student, in order to make it possible for that student to devote his or her time to the writing of the PhD dissertation

Sara Warburton Nicholson

Jessie Kneisel Lieder Prize

Established in memory of a distinguished Eastman professor of German; awarded to the winners of the annual Jessie Kneisel Competition in German Lieder

Mary Allison Grandey (First Prize, vocal); Marc Robert Webster (Second Prize, vocal); Rachel Marie Rowe (Third Prize, vocal); Brittany Leigh Palmer (Honorable Mention, vocal); Jeremy Samolesky (First Prize, piano); Mark Daniel Breeden (Second Prize, piano); Namhee Lim (Third Prize, piano); Boram Chung (Honorable Mention, piano)

Barbara M. H. Koeng Award

Established to honor the memory of a beloved staff member at the Eastman School of Music; recognizes the achievements of an accompanying major who shares Mrs. Koeng's passion for working with singers

Jeremy Samolesky

Louis Lane Prize

Alfred Mann Award

Jeremy Neal Grimshaw, Dariusz Terefenko

McCurdy Prize

Awarded to a student who has shown excellence in composition

Jairo Duarte-Lopez

Linda Muise Award

Established in honor of Eastman's Assistant Dean for Residential Life; presented to a graduating senior who has shown dedication, enthusiasm, collaboration, and leadership traits that promote and maintain a strong quality of life for all *Julie Maureen Barnes*

Robert L. Oppelt Viola Prize

Named for the first recipient of the DMA in Performance and Pedagogy at the Eastman School of Music; awarded annually to an outstanding viola student *Marc Philip Anderson*

Ornest Award

Established in honor of Dorothy Ornest, BM '42; presented to students who have shown excellence in vocal performance

> Anna Christina Elder, Erica Lynn Schuller, Kevin (Kyung Min) Park, Audrey Snyder

The Presser Music Award

Funded by a grant from the Presser Foundation; presented to a graduate student demonstrating excellence and outstanding promise for a distinguished career in the field of music *Nathan Alexander Simington*

Presser Foundation Undergraduate Scholarship

Funded by a grant from the Presser Foundation; awarded to an undergraduate music student in recognition of outstanding achievement Janet Grace Wightman

Bernard Rogers Memorial Prize

Established in memory of the renowned Eastman faculty composer; awarded to a worthy composition student selected by the faculty

Jonathan Michael Graybill

Raymond and Maxine Schirmer Prize in Jazz Performance

Awarded to a student in the Department of Jazz and Contemporary Media who has distinguished him- or herself in the area of jazz performance Dalton James Ridenhour

Andres Segovia Award for Musical Accomplishment and Human Endeavor

Established in honor of the legendary classical guitarist; presented to the graduating student who most embodies the ideals of Segovia's work: technical excellence; an artistic vision; furthering the pedagogy of their instrument; and working with composers to enrich the repertoire

Benjamin James Gateno

The 2004/2005 Teaching Assistant Prizes

Awarded to students who distinguish themselves for teaching excellence Matthew Pivec, Michael Callahan, Sang Woo Kang, Nicole Marane

Zildjian Scholarship

Funded by the Avedis Zildjian Company; awarded to an outstanding percussion student Ian Andrew Fry





Honors and Awards

Eastman School of Music 80th Commencement Sunday, May 15, 2005, 11:15 a.m.