Graduate Awards

Basic Graduate Awards

Most students entering the PhD program in musicology at Eastman will be offered a graduate award, a mixture of tuition scholarship and stipend.  Normally the graduate award is granted without teaching duties during the first year so that students may concentrate entirely on coursework.  In the second year these teaching duties normally begin.  Students work with faculty members in teaching the undergraduate music history courses at Eastman or in the College Music Program on the River Campus.  Assistants devote about ten hours per week to teaching duties.

The financial arrangements for these graduate awards are handled directly by the associate dean of graduate studies, in consultation with the chair of the musicology department, and may vary from student to student.  The student must register her/his intention to apply for an award with the chair and the associate dean early in the spring for the following fall semester.  Students are normally notified of the nature and amount of their award (in tuition scholarship and stipend) in April or May.  Students holding a graduate award (with teaching duties) must register for a minimum of 9 hours of coursework per semester.


Special Fellowships

At admission, highly qualified applicants are nominated by the musicology department for the prestigious Sproull Fellowship.  The competition for this two-year award is University-wide, and approximately ten to fifteen Sproull Fellowships are awarded each year.  The award includes 12 credits of tuition scholarship per semester and a stipend of up to $20,000 per year.  Because no teaching duties are connected with these fellowships, Sproull fellows are able to devote their time entirely to their studies for two years; after two years, Sproull fellows are supported by the Eastman School of Music.  Several musicology students have received this highly competitive fellowship in past years.  As noted above, students holding a fellowship (that is, students without teaching duties) must register for a minimum of l2 hours of coursework per semester. Sproull fellows may elect to defer the second, non-teaching year to a later year of their residency.

The Elsa T. Johnson Fellowship, a one-year award that carries a stipend of around $16,000, is available for musicology students in the dissertation-writing stage of their work.  Information about the annual competition for this fellowship is available in the musicology office.

The Raymond N. Ball Dissertation Year Fellowship similarly funds students who are completing their dissertations.   The University of Rochester awards this fellowship to several outstanding graduate students in the humanities, economics, or business administration fields.  The award is made by the University dean of graduate studies based on nominations from the relevant departments, and musicology students have received this fellowship in past years.

The Provost’s Fellowship may be granted to doctoral students in all disciplines from underrepresented groups who are U.S. citizens.  The fellowship releases graduates from teaching duties for two years.


Awards and Prizes

In addition to the fellowships noted above, musicology students may apply or be nominated for a number of awards and prizes administered by the department or the Eastman School, as well as for University-wide awards.  Details on each are available from the musicology office.

Musicology Department Awards and Fellowships

  • Charles Warren Fox Award, for a work of original research or interpretation by a musicology student that reached publication (in the broad sense, including online publications and presentations at conferences) during the preceding year.
  • Glenn Watkins Traveling Fellowship, for dissertation-related research in libraries and archives in the U.S. or abroad.
  • Alfred Mann Dissertation Award, for an unusually distinguished completed dissertation in Musicology or Music Theory.  The award is given in alternate years to a student in the Musicology and Music Theory departments.  Dissertations filed in the previous two years are thus considered during each cycle of the award process.

Eastman Awards and Fellowships

  • Jerald C. Graue Fellowship, for excellence in musicology or music history, based on work done in graduate courses.  An Eastman graduate student in any department may be eligible for this award; candidates are nominated by the musicology faculty.
  • Presser Award, for travel and other research expenses relating to the dissertation or other academic projects.  This School-wide award is open to students from all departments; one student is nominated by the musicology department (with supporting letters).  According to terms set by the Presser Foundation, the amount (ca. $10,000) is given to a single student for one large or several smaller projects.  It is thus often used for summer trips to archives or lengthy workshops.
  • Teaching Assistant Prize, for distinguished teaching in undergraduate courses by Eastman graduate students.  Graduate students in all departments are eligible in this school-wide competition; nominations from the musicology department are made by the chair in consultation with the faculty.  Faculty teaching assistants are eligible only if they are teaching in both semesters: nominations are based on teaching evaluations from the fall semester, and then finalists are observed in the classroom during the spring semester.

University of Rochester Teaching Prize

  • Edward Curtis Peck Teaching Prize, for distinguished teaching in undergraduate courses by graduate students.  Graduate students from all departments are eligible in this University-wide competition; Eastman musicology students have received this prize in past years.

Financial Aid