Equity and Inclusion at Eastman

Eastman Action Commission for Racial Justice

In June 2020, Dean Jamal Rossi invited twenty members of the Eastman community (students, staff, faculty, alumni, and community members) to form the Eastman Action Commission for Racial Justice (EACRJ).  A comprehensive report from the EACRJ was issued in November 2020.  Progress reports about Eastman’s initiatives toward achieving the goals, objectives, and specific recommendations made by the EACRJ have been issued in subsequent semesters.  The various reports and other communications surrounding social and racial justice, and equity and inclusion matters are found below.

Previous Messages

Action Commission for Racial Justice Members

Lee Koonce, ‘96E (MM), President & Artistic Director of Gateways Music Festival in association with Eastman School of Music; Senior Advisor to the Dean (co-chair)

Jean Pedersen, Associate Professor of History, Eastman; Associate Professor of History, AS&E (co-chair) 

Isrea Butler, ‘04E; ’06E (MM), Chair, Music Department, North Carolina Central University

Lourdes Cossich, ‘13E; ‘15E (MM), Westtown School

Christina Crispin, ‘04E (MM), Associate Director of Admissions

Anaar Desai-Stephens, Assistant Professor of Ethnomusicology

Brianna Garcon, Junior, Horn

Armand Hall, Executive & Artistic Director of ROCmusic Collaborative

Dalanie Harris, Senior, Double Bass

Clay Jenkins, Professor of Jazz Studies & Contemporary Media

Tim Long, ‘92E (MM), Associate Professor of Opera; Music Director, Eastman Opera Theatre

Brad Lubman, Associate Professor of Conducting & Ensembles; Director, Eastman Musica Nova

Trevor Nelson, Ph.D. student, Musicology

Dallas Oestara, Composition and Humanities Department Assistant, (commission support)

Rachel Roberts, ‘03E, Associate Professor of Music Leadership; Graduate Degree Program Director, Institute for Music Leadership

Herb Smith, ‘91E, Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra; Instructor, Eastman Community Music School

George Taylor, Professor of Viola

Travon Walker, Senior, Baritone

Thomas Warfield, Senior Lecturer, National Technical Institute for the Deaf, Department for Performing Arts, Rochester Institute of Technology

André Washington, ‘10E, Associate, Global Finance Group, Sidley Austin LLP