Special Awards

The Eastman Community Music School presents many awards during its annual commencement ceremony in June. These awards recognize special achievements in all areas of study of the school from performance to academic achievement. Some awards are linked to the diplomas and others are separate from the diplomas. All of them are printed on official certificates of the school.

Diploma with Honors

100_5088 honors students

Graduation 2015 — Honors Graduates

In addition the 9 distinct diplomas, the Eastman Community Music School has been awarding diplomas with Honors from the school’s inception more than 80 years ago! Almost all of our diplomas may be awarded with honors.

A diploma with honors is an accolade reserved for those who have achieved the highest level of musical artistry and proven themselves to be fine scholars. Many of our diploma candidates are truly excellent performers, far above their peers both academically and musically. The honors diploma recognizes the very highest level of achievement within this already select group.

For a complete description of the requirements of the diploma with Honors, please see the following link in the ECMS Student Handbook:                                                      

Certificate of Advanced Achievement in Performance

The Certificate of Advanced Achievement in Performance is awarded to students (both diploma and non-diploma) who have achieved the top curricular level (level VI) in their instrument or voice through the Eastman Community Music School Jury rating system. The certificate will be awarded at graduation in the student’s senior year or upon completion of requirements for adult students. Diploma candidates who have earned the diploma with honors will also receive the Certificate of Advanced Achievement in Performance, although a Diploma with honors supersedes this Certificate.

Certificate of Merit

Students who take lessons and at least two other classes or ensembles, and who receive an A in all lessons, classes and/or ensembles for the year, will receive the Certificate of Merit.