School Year Calendar & Events


Academic Calendars

ECMS Academic Calendar

Early Childhood Calendar

Pathways Events


Recitals & Special Events

Weekend Recital Schedule

Lunchtime Concert Series 

Spring Festival Concerts


New Horizons Concerts

Commencement & Awards Ceremony



ECMS Academic Calendar

The Community Music School year aligns with that of most Rochester area public schools — not with the Eastman School of Music collegiate division. Each semester contains 17 weeks of instruction.


Fall 2016

Wednesday, September 7 First semester begins for all lessons, classes and ensembles
Week of September 12 New Horizons ensembles begin
Wednesday, November 23-
Sunday, November 27
Thanksgiving recess
Monday, December 19 Last day of instruction for
calendar year 2016
Tuesday, December 20 –
Monday, January 2
Holiday recess
Tuesday, January 3 Classes resume
Sunday, January 22 First semester ends

Spring 2017

Monday, January 23 Second semester begins
Monday, February 20 –
Sunday, February 26
Winter recess
Monday, April 17 –
Sunday, April 23
Spring recess
Tuesday, May 23 –
Sunday, May 28
Exam & Jury Week
(no teaching)
Monday, May 29 Memorial Day
(no teaching)
Saturday, June 10 Commencement and Awards Ceremony
Sunday, June 11 Last day of instruction



Early Childhood Calendar

September 17, 2016 Fall Session begins
November 19, 2016 Fall Session ends
January 7, 2017 Winter Session begins
March 11, 2017 Winter Session ends
March 18, 2017 Spring Session begins
May 20, 2017 Spring Session ends



Pathways Events 2016-2017

Wed., Sept. 7 1st Semester begins
Sat., Sept. 10 Pathways Social, 1 p.m. in MSH One
Fri., Oct. 28 ESM Music College Fair, 5-7 p.m.
Cominsky Promenade
Sat., Nov 12 Careers Workshop, 12 p.m. in ESM 305
TBD Practice Buddy Party
Wed. Nov. 23-Sun, Nov. 27 Thanksgiving Recess
Sat., Dec. 3 Holiday Social 5:45-7 p.m. in MSH One
Saturday, December 17 Winterfest
Tuesday, Dec. 20-Mon, Jan. 2 Holiday Recess
Fri-Sat, January 13-14 High School MCSMA Solo Festival
Fri-Sat, January 20-21 Middle School MCSMA Solo Festival
Fri-Sat, January 27-28 Elementary MCSMA Solo Festival
Sun., Jan. 22 1st Semester ends
Mon., Jan.23 2nd Semester begins
Mon., Feb. 20-Sun, Feb. 26 Winter Recess
Sat., TBD Spring fling to the RPO
Sat., Mar. 18

Pathways Open House (2 p.m.)                 & Recital (3:30 p.m.)  in Room 120

Sat, Mar. 18-Sat, Apr 1 Pathways Application Period
Mon., Apr. 10-15 Pathways audition scheduling
Mon., Apr. 17- Sun. Apr. 23 Spring Recess
Fri-Sat, April 28-29 Pathways Auditions
Sat., May 12

All City Festival, 6 p.m., in Kodak Hall

(rehearsals 5/5 & 5/8)

Tues., May 16 Eastman NYSSMA Solo Festival 
Wed, May 17 Senior Recognition Dinner
Mon., May 22 Pathways Notification Letters to be mailed
Tues., May 23-Mon., May 28 ECMS Jury Week
Tues., June 6  Pathways Mandatory Orientation 6:30 p.m. Kilbourn Hall
Sat., June 10 at 3 p.m. Commencement and Awards
Kilbourn Hall
Sun., June 11 2nd Semester ends

Last updated: August 23, 2016